DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic 2 Pro user -- help me learn from my crash

MT_Brian

Reactions
Hello --

I'm a new Mavic 2 Pro user (and new drone operator in general). I have about 10 flights under my belt, and have been slowly learning my way around. Lots of great info here -- so before anything else, thank you to all that contribute and help in these forums.

Today I crashed my M2P into a tree, just 20 seconds after takeoff. I had just used the auto-takeoff feature, taking off with the intention of going straight up a clearing between trees. I received obstacle avoidance warnings, had plenty of satellites connected (12-13), had clear line of sight with my drone and where I intended to go. I hit the right thumb stick to move the drone just a bit to my right for a clearer pathway up. It jumped too far (over a meter), crashed into a huge tree trunk and came down hard. All 4 propellors were trashed, but all else looks ok. I didn't have spare propellors with me, so didn't have opportunity to try flying again.

My question is this -- why didn't the obstacle avoidance stop me from flying into a huge obstacle?

Looking over my flight log raises more questions -- why did the altitude drop to negative numbers before crashing?

Flight logs are here: DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm here to learn, and want to become a safe and knowledgable pilot. Is there anything else I can learn from my flight logs?

Respectfully,

--Brian

Hello --

I'm a new Mavic 2 Pro user (and new drone operator in general). I have about 10 flights under my belt, and have been slowly learning my way around. Lots of great info here -- so before anything else, thank you to all that contribute and help in these forums.