DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mavic Owner is puzzled

1ianc8

Reactions
After a few weeks ownership I am delighted with my new Mavic pro, but there is one thing that puzzles me. Now retired from a career as a professional pilot, I know a bit about flight instruments and the Directional/Attitude indicator seems wrong. When the nose goes up, the horizon appears to go down - correctly shown on the DJI Go 4 display. When the aircraft banks right wing down, however, the horizon banks right wing down on the display, which seems the wrong way. It should reflect what the pilot would see from the cockpit - the horizon remaining level and appearing to bank left wing down. In the rolling axis this is the opposite of what happens on the "artificial horizon" on normal flight instruments. I wonder why DJI have designed it this way.

Reactions: ivpmaniak
After a few weeks ownership I am delighted with my new Mavic pro, but there is one thing that puzzles me. Now retired from a career as a professional pilot, I know a bit about flight instruments and the Directional/Attitude indicator seems wrong. When the nose goes up, the horizon appears to go down - correctly shown on the DJI Go 4 display. When the aircraft banks right wing down, however, the horizon banks right wing down on the display, which seems the wrong way. It should reflect what the pilot would see from the cockpit - the horizon remaining level and appearing to bank left wing down. In the rolling axis this is the opposite of what happens on the "artificial horizon" on normal flight instruments. I wonder why DJI have designed it this way.
Welcome on board, Sir.
I can't speak to DJI's design philosophy, but can offer this: Any resemblance in flight characteristics between a Quadcopter and fixed wing A/C should be ignored. They are two different animals.