DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Member/Owner. Some Questions

Stewh

Reactions
Hi Everyone,
I recently bought a Mavic Air, and although it flies like a dream (I've been an ROV Pilot for 36 Years), the most annoying thing is that I can't see the screen on my Huawei P10 when outside, even with the screen on max. brightness and added contrast. I've found quite a lot of sunshades on Amazon, but it would seem that they get in the way of the controller joysticks, i.e. make it difficult to operate the sticks? Opinions please?

I've also been looking at collapsible landing pads, and once again, many to choose from. I'd like one that's weighted so that it won't move/blow away when on a hard surface. Any recommendations please?

And finally for now; I'm considering buying a mini-tablet for the larger screen. On one of the many Youtube videos I've watched over the last week the ipad mini 4 seems to be recommended, and fits the controller. However I don't buy or use Apple products, so I wonder if anyone is successfully using an Android mini-pad?

Many thanks in advance for replies. I'm based in the UK and Tenerife.

Stewart

I've also been looking at collapsible landing pads, and once again, many to choose from. I'd like one that's weighted so that it won't move/blow away when on a hard surface. Any recommendations please?

Haven't had a chance to use it yet but picked up this Landing Pad from Amazon. I didn't go with the LED lit one but other then that, it's the same. Fairly good weight (and from reviews doesn't appear t get blown around from prop wash or normal winds. Comes with ground stakes for higher winds if required. Collapses nice but if you're looking for something to go in a smaller bag it may not be ideal.