DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New Mini 2 - Not Connecting to Phone

Cambam34

Reactions
Hi! I am new to the Pilot life. This being my first drone I am running into some beginner errors.

1st - I couldn't locate an app to download off of the google store (android phone), but when I plug the phone it asks if I want to go to a specific app to which I choose yes. As soon as the app opens it asks if I want to go "Premium" for $12/month. I skip this as I assume I should be able to still use the drone. You know what they say about assuming. I want to verify that I don't need the premium membership.

2nd - The few unboxing videos I've seen have mentioned that when you get a new drone. There are usually some firmware and software downloads that must happen before you can begin flying and everything. It even mentions logging into or creating an account to begin flying.. the app hasn't requested any of that from me. I'm not sure where in the app I would go to do it myself since its not asking.

3rd - The controller doesn't too much of anything (at the moment) BUT I can control the angle of the camera. Which tells me, its connected even though the app is saying the aircraft battery is at 0% (after a full nights charge). The drone even has all 4 battery lights on.

4th - After taking it outside, its still telling me it can't take off. The immediate area is clear of obstructions. In my head there is no reason it shouldn't be flying..

5th - I am not getting any visual feedback from the camera on my phone.

I'm sure these are common mistakes that are simple to fix, I just have run out of ideas on how to fix them so I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240617_105559_Drone DJI.jpg
    Screenshot_20240617_105559_Drone DJI.jpg
    673.2 KB · Views: 9
  • Screenshot_20240617_105614_Drone DJI.jpg
    Screenshot_20240617_105614_Drone DJI.jpg
    516 KB · Views: 9