DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

New to the world of drones

PureBlue

Reactions
Hello,
I'm new to the world of drones. I have some experience in photography and I'm looking to add drone shots to my skills.
I purchased my first drone, the Mavic Air. One of my first concerns is the maximum flight ceiling. What i'm worried about is what happens if i'm at a high altitude on a mountainous area and I fly the drone over a cliff area? I'm worried that the drone will be over the maximum ceiling over the edge and wont be able to gain enough altitude due to the maximum 400 foot ceiling to return to the home location higher on the mountain. Any advice and info would be appreciated.

Reactions: Hauptmann
Hello,
I'm new to the world of drones. I have some experience in photography and I'm looking to add drone shots to my skills.
I purchased my first drone, the Mavic Air. One of my first concerns is the maximum flight ceiling. What i'm worried about is what happens if i'm at a high altitude on a mountainous area and I fly the drone over a cliff area? I'm worried that the drone will be over the maximum ceiling over the edge and wont be able to gain enough altitude due to the maximum 400 foot ceiling to return to the home location higher on the mountain. Any advice and info would be appreciated.

That won't be an issue. The altitude limit is set relative to the take off point.

You can also reset max altitude on your drone. For example, there is a “beginner mode” which is like training wheels for a new drone pilot.

Hello,
Well, you can put the maximum height limit to anything between 0 - 500 meters. Remember that maximum height and RTH height are two different settings and need to be adjusted separately.

Well, you can put the maximum height limit to anything between 0 - 500 meters. Remember that maximum height and RTH height are two different settings and need to be adjusted separately.