Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

No DLOG-M Color Mode for Still Images on Mavic 2 Pro

baddog

Reactions
Site
www.drone-scapes.com
To All and Anyone with knowledge,

I have recently started using my Mavic 2 Pro for Cinematic footage and stills, it is long story why, another time maybe.

Anyway, I have been using my Mavic Pro, 1st edition, for the past 4 years capturing this footage type. I would always use h.264 compression & d-cinelike color profile, for both video footage and stills. Then I would, color grade the finished product.

(Source: FXhome D-log OR D-cinelike ?)
DJI gear is recording 8-bit 4:2:0 footage. This basically means you have only 256 levels per color channel which means. The D-Log AND D-Cinelike are going to try to cram your footage into the range of about 96-176 and you'll be required to re-expand the dynamic range to get back to 0-255. Problem is, with only 256 gray levels you run the risk of banding, since D-Log and D-Cinelike are both throwing away half to dynamic range.
D-Log and similar profiles are really intended for 10-bit or higher footage, not 8-bit.

So now I finally have 10-bit color with h.265 on the Mavic 2 Pro. Woo Hoo!!! Right? No, I do not have the option to select the DLOG-M profile for still images only for video. I am baffled as to why that is the case with the Mavic 2 Pro? We finally have the bit depth to take advantage of these color profiles and DJI cuts your hands off...okay a little dramatic, but you know what I mean.

Any insight on why DJI might have done this would be helpful.

When you shooting dng images, it has 12/14 bit (dont remember) color depth
Your right and it’s 12 on the Mavic 2 Pro

To All and Anyone with knowledge,

I have recently started using my Mavic 2 Pro for Cinematic footage and stills, it is long story why, another time maybe.