DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Please review airspace’s before flying

golfpilot

Reactions
Pulling into my neighborhood today a guy was about to takeoff with a DJI phantom drone, he was the photographer for a wedding at a golf course. Where he was planning to fly was .8 miles from the end of the runway of a class D airport.

I am a pilot and often time will make this approach slightly lower than others because I am passing my house. Seeing someone about to takeoff there really hit home for me. Where he was planning to fly would place him right where I fly my approach.

When asked he said that he wasn’t in restricted airspace. Said he was being paid as the photographer of the wedding and that the area wasn’t restricted and he said restricted airspace doesn’t let him take off at all. Now I know that isn’t true since I have a Mavic drone and I have pulled it out in my office at the airport. It won’t let me fly there, but go across the street and you can. Still well within controlled airspace.
I showed him on foreflight, I don’t think he knew how to read the sectional he looked at it like a deer in the headlights.

He claimed to have a UAS rating but didn’t have it on him and the drone registration was not on the drone. He said he didn’t need a 107 waiver. Just isn’t true.

Please be aware of where you are flying these! Just because the drone lets you takeoff doesn’t mean it is ok. Just as I was talking to him 3 airplanes flew over our heads around 400-500 feet. One guy coming in a little bit low could cause a huge problem.

As of right now I’m debating whether to report him to the FAA. He did give me his name and phone number (he texted it to me)People flying drones like this should be fined. This was a perfect example of incorrect and uneducated drone usage.

Reactions: Norb_DAIS
This is exactly why the FAA and whoever will clamp down on us with a heavy hand.