DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Post processing for cloudy/overcast videos and photos?

C2CDrones

Reactions
Well California hasn't seen the sun in what feels like over a month so most of my recent photos and videos have been on really cloudy and just ugly days. I am very new to post processing and was wondering if you all had any tips or tricks to make my videos/photos look a little more "alive" on such crappy weather days? I use powerdirector365 for my post processing.

You know... a polarized filter can bring life into the cloud-scape. One of my Clients said she likes the clouds. (we are always looking for the "sucker days" right?)
Another way to look at this is... You have proof that "Cali" has something other than always clear skies! I think it is an opportunity, not a problem.
Fly Safe!

Reactions: dozzn and C2CDrones
Well California hasn't seen the sun in what feels like over a month so most of my recent photos and videos have been on really cloudy and just ugly days. I am very new to post processing and was wondering if you all had any tips or tricks to make my videos/photos look a little more "alive" on such crappy weather days? I use powerdirector365 for my post processing.
Personally I think it would be helpful to switch to Davinci Resolve and apply some of the tools found there and take advice from the numerous experts who can suggests lots of different ways to improve your videos.

Reactions: @Rip and C2CDrones
Cloudy days can be great for landscape photography because colours really have a chance to come into their own in the nice, even lighting. Try composing (or cropping) leaving the sky out. or at least minimizing it, if it is flat.

It can be a good time to focus on details (pun intended!).

Reactions: C2CDrones and @Rip