DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RC connection lost regularly, in first minutes of flight.

mattvenn

Reactions
Hi all, hope everyone's doing well.

I wanted to write on the forum as it's been very useful for me in the past and it seems that if this is a fw/sw issue other people must be experiencing it but I can't find any recent threads about it for the mini2.

I'm still fairly new to flying (5 hours of flights in 6 months). I don't fly that often, and in an outing maybe only 2 takeoffs. This has only just started happening in the last few months after updating the app and firmware. Until recently I'd never had an RC lost.

The problem seems to be pretty predictable. I get everything ready and connected. Wait for GPS and homepoint update, take off. Then in around 1 minute (haven't timed it yet) the RC is lost.

Screen on the phone (pixel4a) is frozen. The aircraft stops and then starts returning to home as set in the safety options.

About 10 seconds later, RC is reconnected and everything starts working again.

So it's scary and I'm only just realising it seems predictable. If I keep the aircraft close by and wait for the connection to fail that seems safer, but it's not ideal obviously.

The other problem is that all video recordings taken on the flight are now no longer downloadable in the trimmed mode. When I connect the aircraft to share data and try, it says the cache isn't complete so trimmed mode isn't available.

I am on the latest versions of sw/fw:

* DJI Fly 1.5.9 (1015-official)
* Handset 04.11.0032
* Aircraft 01.03.0000

Anyone else seen these issues? Ideas on how to fix? I updated for the smooth camera controls but I'd prefer to have a solid RC connection.

Matt

Reactions: WyomingCB
First off, what drone are you flying?
You didn't mention that.

Are you launching near steel structures?
In a heavily populated area?
A lot of obstructions around take off area?
Did you recalibrate all?