DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Recomendation before first flight?

Pontoon-pilot

Reactions
Howdy from Texas.
I am new to drones but been flying RC planes and helicopters since 2000.
Looking for some guidance before first take off with my new-to-me mavic pro.
Per the seller, it is a 2016 Nov. edition, the seller said he never updated the firmware.
The phone I will be using is a galaxy note 5 android. (it is in debugging mode USB set to Media file transfer)

Concern and questions.
I am near (3-4miles) of a local small unmanned (no tower) airport with recreational air traffic. Will this cause issues if I upgrade to the new geo-fencing (2.0 version) firmware?
Do I need to do anything to the drone and remote in regards to transferring from the previous owner?
Can I reset the drone+remote to factory setting in case the prev owner customized setting to his liking?
Anything else I should be aware of?
thank you

...The phone I will be using is a galaxy note 5 android. (it is in debugging mode USB set to Media file transfer)

Concern and questions.
I am near (3-4miles) of a local small unmanned (no tower) airport with recreational air traffic. Will this cause issues if I upgrade to the new geo-fencing (2.0 version) firmware?
Do I need to do anything to the drone and remote in regards to transferring from the previous owner?
Can I reset the drone+remote to factory setting in case the prev owner customized setting to his liking?
Anything else I should be aware of?
thank you
• You will find out pretty quick if your phone will work. Use a good quality USB data cable to connect to the RC (disconnect the short cable from the side of the RC).
• You may have NFZ problems with the current version. It would be best go fly further away from the airport.