DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

RTH Hypothetical Question

WoodMan

Reactions
I've been wondering and haven't seen this question posted anywhere. I live at 3,100 ft elevation and wanted to explore some higher elevations on our mountain. Suppose I fly from my 3,100 ft elevation to 4,000 ft elevation and RTH gets activated due to LOS or low battery and my RTH elevation is set to 200 ft. Is the MPZ going to try to come down to 3,300 ft while it's still at 4,000 ft. elevation, obviously causing it to crash? I'm fairly new to flying drones and not aware of whether they keep track of their altitude above the ground below or just how far up they are from their take-off elevation. I assume I would have to set the maximum altitude in settings to 1,000 ft. just to be able to get to the 4,000 ft. elevation plus 100 ft.

Otherwise I'd have to drive higher up the hill to explore the 4,000 ft. area. My main concern is what happens during a RTH event if the ground is much higher than the RTH altitude setting. Once again, I'm assuming the RTH altitude setting is in reference to it's Home take-off setting. I suppose DJI Go 4 also won't allow a RTH altitude of 1,000 ft. to avoid my concern above.

The aircraft will not descend while returning in RTH mode. If it is already higher than the set RTH height then it will stay at that height until it is over the home point.
So is APAS overridden if it requires rising above an obstacle higher than that height? For instance: you dip below a peak that is above the RTH height and you lose connection and it triggers Return To Home.

So is APAS overridden if it requires rising above an obstacle higher than that height? For instance: you dip below a peak that is above the RTH height and you lose connection and it triggers Return To Home.

If OA is enabled for RTH then it will climb to avoid an obstacle up to the maximum set flight height.