DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Satellite connections decrease as altitude rises

e-XPLoDeR

Reactions
Hi,
I'm new to MavicPilots, first of all, sorry for my first thread to be an issue.

I made my first outdoor flight with my new Mini 2, but I got GPS Position Mismatch errors, dropped GPS satellites gradually and it automatically set to ATTI mode on about 350 feets high and from 40 feets distance.

Here is my flight log: DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

And here is the replay:

Today, I've made a new flight on the same area and just returned back to my PC. I would like to give a brief what I've done:

First of all, today's flight log: DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com

1. I switched my phone to airplane mode but switched GPS on.
2. I started DJI Fly app and turned on the drone, then calibrated both IMU and Compass (unfortunately there are cars every where, but I kept 2 meters distance between a car and a drone, and I am so sorry, I know I shouldnt fly in such areas, in urban, with a crowded pigeon colony, in a stony road etc. but I couldnt wait, since I feel blue).
3. I started asceding to 100 meters slowly, as yesterday, but as you can see from the screen record, as soon as I ascend , the amount of satellites started dropping (from 16-17 max. to 8, please refer to the video, 1:25 and the log, 3m 0.1s and below)
4. As I saw 8 satellites, I didnt want to risk anymore and started descending and finally landed. As you will see, satellite connections are instable. It There are drops to 8 gradually but fast from 14-16 sattellites.

My question is: Is it normal to drop satellites from 16-17 to 8-9 while in the air, especially as altitude rises? And I know it would be zero if I ascended to 100 meters (like yesterday). There exactly is instable GPS connection as you can see both from the log and the video.

Welcome.
I saw your other thread, both here and over on the DJI forum.