DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Shoot video in high fps or slow down in iMovie?

Vegas Flyer

Reactions
im new with the video shooting. When you shoot video do you slow it, if so what speed, or slow it in iMovie?
Another question, do most people here use Lightroom and if so, what version and where do I buy that?

I’m all Mac.

I’ve done still photography for years and use Adobe photoshop.

Thank you

It is never recommended that you slow down video (edit: unless you shot at a high frame rate, like 60+fps). This requires frames to be repeated, giving a very choppy look. There are plug-ins such as Twixtor (sp?) that will interpolate the missing frames, but otherwise, it really creates a bit of a visual mess. Now, speeding up video is different. There's no problem doing that, as you're skipping frames, but there are techniques for doing this properly, to avoid flicker.

Last edited:
Not an expert but I have just started to use free download Davinci Resolve 14 (has a lot more functions than needed). Film in NTSC 4k3840 @30fps ,100 ISO 50 shutter (put on ND filters to keep the 100/50) no colour in selection with a style of +1 0 +1. Hope this can help

Here’s my tips. I use the settings off filmpoets video. This guy did one of the best analysis’s I’ve seen.

I colour grade in resolve as well. I will say their lut is pretty rock solid for any beginners to use.

I also run polarpro polarizers which take some prework

Reactions: Vegas Flyer
I talked to a professional video editor who always creates slo mo using Final Cut Pro, not shooting at high FPS.

For my stuff so far, I have used 30 fps and the interpolation function in Premiere Pro.

Here are a couple of short examples:

They seem OK to me but maybe not.

I will try some high FPS on the G3 Duo action cam and also Mavic Air.