DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

shooting in HLG

Brett, just to revisit your query on aqua banding in a blue sky. Turns out it is nothing to do with filters. It happens when you color grade in the normal Rec 709 and actually is a very good indicator of overexposure. Pull your highlights down and the aqua band will gradually come down too turning into normal sky blue. Then if you need to brighten it up again use your midtones (not highlights) and the blue should stay intact.

I can't believe that I missed this thread. I started filming in HLG from the start but went back to DLog M because it was a mess with YouTube. On my TV it was fantastic! You all know this, I'm sure, but there are tons of luts for rec2020.

I am still learning about color profiles.
Anyway, I have one question about playing footage on a 4K Tv with HLG.
Recently I purchased LG OLED TV 55C9 and in tech specs among other things, says it supports HLG pro.

I took test footage in HLG with Mavic 2 , and moved this original file to my media player which is connected to my TV.
After I played this file, nothing happend , I mean, I don't think my TV recognized HLG and applied right color tone on the footage.
When I play HDR movie on the TV, it automaticaly recognize it and switch to HDR settings, but not this one from the Mavic 2.

Am I doing something wrong ?

Reactions: christangey
I am still learning about color profiles.
Anyway, I have one question about playing footage on a 4K Tv with HLG.
Recently I purchased LG OLED TV 55C9 and in tech specs among other things, says it supports HLG pro.

I took test footage in HLG with Mavic 2 , and moved this original file to my media player which is connected to my TV.
After I played this file, nothing happend , I mean, I don't think my TV recognized HLG and applied right color tone on the footage.