DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Shooting Main Street video? Legal?

Stephen21

Reactions
Hello Everyone,

I am just getting started and thought that, once I gain proficiency with flight operations, I would make a little "Promo" video of out little town.

I am comfortable with where I can fly for all of the project except for a run down our historic main street.

Can I gain permission from local LEO or the FAA?

I certainly want to be safe avoid posting video evidence of a misdemeanor in progress...... :)

Thanks

WhIch country?

assume you would need permission from local government for that (who will probably say no)

• Haha
Reactions: tlswift58
Assuming USA, since OP's profile says Eastern WA.

The FAA has sole jurisdiction over the airspace. Local authorities can't waive FAA rules.

If you use private property to take off, land, or operate your controller, that's between you and the landowner.

The FAA generally prohibits flight over people or moving vehicles. Flight over buildings is generally okay.

I don't know how your main street is laid out, but I'd avoid flying directly over the street and sidewalks, and consider flying over the buildings on one side, with the camera pointed across the street to storefronts on the opposite side. Then switch sides and repeat.

The FAA has sole jurisdiction over the airspace. Local authorities can't waive FAA rules.

If you use private property to take off, land, or operate your controller, that's between you and the landowner.

The FAA generally prohibits flight over people or moving vehicles. Flight over buildings is generally okay.

I don't know how your main street is laid out, but I'd avoid flying directly over the street and sidewalks, and consider flying over the buildings on one side, with the camera pointed across the street to storefronts on the opposite side. Then switch sides and repeat.