DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Shots over large public areas.

Raybo

Reactions
I have 15 hrs on my Mavic Air, and really enjoying it. I’m a professional photographer as well, it was my profession for 40 years.
Here’s my concerns, I’ve been looking at numerous aerial images and seems some major rules are being ignored. Shots over major cities, over crowded beaches, and over parks.
Are all these being taken “illegally” these publicly shown images.
Not sure if I’m going for the commercial licensing, not interested in another business.

Just me but I try to follow the community-based safety guidelines and fly within the programming of a nationwide community-based organization here in the USA. Notice that I said try. Seems to be a gray area what is law and what is suggested. There are a lot of threads discussing what's right or wrong.

Try: key word that says you follow rules unless not following them suits you. Which is usually the stuff that should be followed.

I have 15 hrs on my Mavic Air, and really enjoying it. I’m a professional photographer as well, it was my profession for 40 years.
Here’s my concerns, I’ve been looking at numerous aerial images and seems some major rules are being ignored. Shots over major cities, over crowded beaches, and over parks.
Are all these being taken “illegally” these publicly shown images.
Not sure if I’m going for the commercial licensing, not interested in another business.
In what way are these shots "illegal"?

Try: key word that says you follow rules unless not following them suits you.
Not at all but will admit there are times where VLOS is blocked by something for a bit.