DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Should I use ND filters on a cloudy day?

TrayBoz

Reactions
I just got my first set of ND filters and have watched many videos on how to set the video settings (manually) to get the best pictures. I'm ready to start experimenting with various video settings now.

My question is, should I ALWAYS use an ND filter? Even in low light? Or on a really cloudy day?

Thanks in advance - my apologies if this topic was covered in a previous post... I couldn't find anything specific.

I think the common train of thought is you want to keep your shutter speed around 1/60 if you're shooting at 30fps. So whatever it takes to get that, be it a 4 or 8 or whatever.

Reactions: Garuda
As above comment, to keep shutter speed at bay. Test out your diffrent filters for diffrent light conditions and see if you can get close to 1/60 in 30fps or 1/120 in 60. I am new to this also, and right now testing out my diffrent filters (ND4/PL, ND8/PL and ND16/PL). I dont rush this, take my time film abit, take notes of what filters and settings. Then analyze the footage at home and try to judge for myself what is the best choice.

Shutter speed should be double your frame rate as JJM mentioned. You will probably find that even on a cloudy day, that means a 4.

I just got my first set of ND filters and have watched many videos on how to set the video settings (manually) to get the best pictures. I'm ready to start experimenting with various video settings now.

My question is, should I ALWAYS use an ND filter? Even in low light? Or on a really cloudy day?

Thanks in advance - my apologies if this topic was covered in a previous post... I couldn't find anything specific.