DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Sudden GPS loss, wide drift on RTH

I’m no expert but here’s my understanding of GPS.

Although you might have 20 satellites that doesn’t mean you have 20 good satellites. You need at least 4 with a good signal to get an accurate location
the bar to the right of the satellite count gives a better indication rather than the number. Lots of things affect GPS, atmospheric conditions, radio interference, line of sight to GPS satellites, having a lot of satellites in a row is not as good as having a more even spread across the sky etc etc.

The time of day also affects how many you can see and where they are. Satellites low on the horizon are not as good as those overhead, I don’t know if DJI does this but some equipment doesn’t use any satellites that are lower on the horizon than a preset value.

I use an Android app called GPS Test on my phone/tablet before I fly, I’m sure there are many others that are just as fine or better and iOS must have some available I’m sure.

GPS Test shows you how many satellites are about, where they are in the sky in relation to the horizon and their signal strength. I’ve been out ready to fly and have had next to no signal strength, my signal strength was fine after checking where the satellites where and waiting a short while until they were in a better position. Of course the reverse can also happen, you start with great signal strength but later in the day the everything has moved and your signal strength could have dropped

Most days your good to go with great GPS signal strength but I still check first

It shouldn't create a new home point unless you instruct it to or turn it off and on (which is impossible in midair).
GPS>ATTI is compass skitzing out and the Mavic defaulting to ATTI to prevent flyaway. Symptoms is the massive arc you see. That's a giant size toilet bowl effect its trying create.