DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Super Resolution RAW Image

Les Sullivan

Reactions
As a retired professional photographer I bought the Mavic 2 Zoom rather than the Hasselblad version as I felt that it would be more appropriate for me. I liked the ability to zoom optically.

I am lucky to own large format printing equipment and was keen to try the advertised super resolution images 8000 x 6000 jpg. in order to produce some big prints. Those .jpg images are superb but the Mavic 2 Zoom is capable of better quality but unfortunately some people have reported, wrongly, that it will only produce super resolution .jpg images and not RAW which is where the real quality lies.

When taking an automatic super resolution image the Mavic 2 Zoom takes a total of 9 images which it stitches together automatically in mid-flight to create a single 8000 x 6000 pixel image. Very impressive, accurate and fast. The attached image (original.jpg) shows the area covered by 8000 x 6000 although I have re-sampled to just 500px wide to display quickly here.

More impressive is the fact that you have the option to simultaneously save to the memory card a total of 10 images in RAW format (.dng). The first image is a reference photo of the whole scene and the other 9 make up the montage. They are save in a sub folder called "PANORAMA". Each of these RAW images is 16bit 3992 x 2992 and about 24MB in size.

The RAW images have to be stitched manually and I used Photoshop which was surprisingly easy to do.
First I imported the RAW .dng images into Photoshop and made the desired changes to colour and exposure etc. The joy of working with RAW. I saved the resulting images as .tif files which is lossless although the resulting file size on my PC is now 70MB per image, I am in the habit of using .tif as a "master" file type as it is archival.