DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

The math of Chinese spying...enough with the emotions....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donnie Frank

Reactions
Hey doods!

So it seems that all this "Chinese Spying" stuff is a really hot topic right now. Everyone seems to have an opinion. There are a lot of opinions going both ways but nobody seems to be doing the math. When I hear terms like "fear mongering" it just makes my blood boil. Using emotions to solve math problems will never, ever, ever be a good idea. And when it comes to the security of our nation, erring to the side of safety seems like a prudent idea to me.

I've been building and fixing computers and networks for 2 decades. And I can tell you from great experience that ANYBODY who claims to know everything there is to know about computers or networking is lying to you. There are many highly-specialized facets of computing that require experts in those specific fields. NOBODY is an expert on all those facets.

So putting emotion aside, here's the REALITY of the situation.

It would take an entire panel of experts from China and the U.S. to truly determine of any data is being harvested by China via DJI drones. While China denies left and right that their drones are sending data to China, "denial" is simply not good enough...not by a long shot.

I find DJI's claims highly erroneous for many reasons;

1) Anything that connects to your iPad, iPhone, Android, etc....ANYTHING....is inherently insecure. Your phone transmits data every chance it gets. There are literally dozens of videos on this subject. Here's just one:

Literally, the only way to insure iPad security is to disable WiFi permanently. But we don't do that. And forget iPHONES. They will never be secure. That said, we can't really permanently disable our WiFi. Why not? Because we have to download map data and, in some cases, SRTM data to work. How else can we complete our missions?