DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Thought i'd lost it

keat63

Reactions
Guys, I'm still learning so go easy on me :)

Flying over to a small pond near us yesterday evening, and lost VLOS of the drone.
My own stupid fault really, I was too busy watching my phone screen, when I glanced up, I couldn't figure out where in the sky the mavic was, looking back in hindsight, I think it was behind a tree line.
However, as I was about turn it around and bing it home, when I lost video feed.

I stopped any control inputs hoping that the video feed would return, but it didn't.
Now I dare not fly it, as I havn't a clue which direction it might go.

I can't press RTH on the screen as this wasn't responding, and I totally forgot about RTH on the controller.

Thinking that I lost all total control, then either it will RTH it'self or I've lost it.

Maybe as many as 3 minutes passed, with my heart pounding out of my chest, I heard the buzz of the return.

Reviewing the video from the SD card, it seems that i'd not lost control as I can see the point where i'd pulled back on the stick and then thought the better of it.
The mavic hovered in it's current position for a few minutes, then appears to have initiated its own RTH.

Is this the case, if no stick input after a period of time, RTH is automatically initailised ??

Also, if my theory of me not losing control and only losing video feedback is correct, then why would I lose video feedback ?
What is video feedback transmitted over.
What is it's theoretical range,
And are there any settings to improve on this.

This isn't the first time I've lost video feedback.

Reactions: mereflyer
Reviewing the video from the SD card, it seems that i'd not lost control as I can see the point where i'd pulled back on the stick and then thought the better of it.
The mavic hovered in it's current position for a few minutes, then appears to have initiated its own RTH.