DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video stops recording by itself

Daniel15

Reactions
Palo Alto, CA (originally from Australia)
My wife bought me a Mavic Mini for my birthday. I've never used a drone before so I've been playing with it and seeing how it works. An issue I've experienced recently is that when I try to record a video, it records for a while (sometimes 20 seconds, sometimes 45-50 seconds) but then just stops recording by itself.

I'm using a brand new SanDisk Extreme 128 GB SD card, formatted in the drone. Searching around online, a lot of posts say that this could be due to a defective or fake SD card. I tested the card with CrystalDiskMark and get a sequential write speed of 82 Mb/s, which is close to SanDisk's advertised speed (90 Mb/s) and far higher than the maximum video bitrate listed in the Mini's specs (40 Mb/s). I also tested the card with h2testw and it appears to work fine.

Any ideas on how to debug this issue?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Welcome!

My own 2 cents:
Read this: A short explanation of compass function, calibration and errors.

Fly without looking at your screen at first. Understand what drone orientation is, what the lights mean, and how to navigate without the display. (Saved me numerous times)

Set up your menu system before take off. Meaning set your RTH Altitude, your RTH action, etc... All before you take off.

Pretend like Sport mode doesn't exist.

Enjoy your new addiction. ?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

now on to your question lol

...i have no idea

what are you recording in?
were you getting any error messages?

As a matter of interest are the size of the video files similar or dissimilar?

what are you recording in?
2.7k 30fps

were you getting any error messages?
I didn't see any error messages on my phone screen. It just... seemed to stop recording.