DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What do you charge for aerial surveys?

brett8883

Reactions
I know there are other DronePilots forums geared more to professional pilots this question may be better in. I will ask there too but this forum seems to be much more active than the others.

I have been doing aerial surveys for my company using DroneDeploy for some time now so I have some experience but I am just now getting asked by other companies to do surveys and I am not sure what to charge since I have just been doing this for myself so far.

A professional survey company wants me to do a 20-30 acre site and all they want is contour lines they can import into AutoCAD. I know how to do that, just export the file from DroneDeploy so it doesn't take any more work on my part than just gather the images and upload to DroneDeploy. This cite is 45 minutes from where I live and I will probably use my Inspire 2 to do the work.

Can anybody give me a clue as to what to charge?

Thanks,

I think it depends on a lot of factors, the geographical area, the marketplace and general going rate for the services required.

I try to keep it simple and generally charge $150/hr whether I'm in the field shooting or behind the computer. Sometimes, if I can guesstimate how long something will take and don't expect any curve balls in the requirements after the fact I'll give a hard price based on how long I think it will take. The reason that I like to charge hourly is because often the way jobs are presented and what they really require aren't the same. I've found that when I charge by the hour the clients respect my time more and are less likely to ask for time consuming extras that weren't part of the original job description.

I think it depends on a lot of factors, the geographical area, the marketplace and general going rate for the services required.