DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What type of drone pilot am I?

Streak

Reactions
Some years ago I built a 450 sized Trex heli but never got beyond being able to hover.
Ove the past number of years I investigated building a quadcopter but always talked myself out of it.
Each year I take a look at what's new with DJI but again do nothing about it.
This year the Mini 2 has caught my attention and I have been watching many videos about how to set it up and its capabilities in general.
Or should it be the Air 2S or should I wait for Mini 3 or should I go and seek counselling for not being able to commit!
I am an amateur photographer too (not too knowledgeable on video) so I find the flying camera aspect appealing.

For fun I went online and got my TRUST certificate.
I then heard about part 107 - did some free online courses and then got 96% on some practice tests.
Talk about putting the cart before the horse!

I guess now I need to find out if I have what it takes to properly fly one of these things!! FWIW I am in my 60s and live in San Diego.
I have an old copy of the Phoenix flight simulator that has the old DJI Phantom as one of the quads.

Would that be a good place to start?

Some years ago I built a 450 sized Trex heli but never got beyond being able to hover.
Ove the past number of years I investigated building a quadcopter but always talked myself out of it.
This year the Mini 2 has caught my attention and I have been watching many videos about how to set it up and its capabilities in general.
Or should it be the Air 2S or should I wait for Mini 3 or should I go and seek counselling for not being able to commit!
I am an amateur photographer too (not too knowledgeable on video) so I find the flying camera aspect appealing.

I then heard about part 107 - did some free online courses and then got 96% on some practice tests.