DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Wind gust - drone climbing vertical up

I just received this error msg. about an hour ago. It was about 19 degrees F. I did not see any flight issues but I did not fly it long. Why should the cold cause flight issues anyway.Screenshot_20220215-093116.jpg

Why should the cold cause flight issues anyway.
Because the altitude sensor can malfunction in very cold conditions, giving erratic false data and causing height stability problems.

I assume when you say "Altitude sensor" you are referring to the IMU? I referred to the Mini's manual and I could not find anything about the IMU. I did find a sentence that said, "Operating temperature of 32 to 104 degrees." I worked part time in the electronics field, I built and tested MIDI's (Music Interface Device), I never came across a piece of electrical equipment that would not work at 32 degrees. Some chips did not work well at high temps. but worked fine at low temps. I am sure there are some components that do not work well in extreme cold, but IMUs are used everywhere now, from expensive fitbits to cars. I Googled operating conditions for IMUs and the only mention of problems was extreme banging and jarring them to radio wave interference, nothing mentioned about cold. I am just curious what would be in their IMUs that do not work in the cold.

I am just curious what would be in their IMUs that do not work in the cold.
I don't know whyor how the IMU can be affected, but I've examined the flight data from a couple of flights in very cold conditions where the altitude data was highly erratic.
This caused serious altitude stability issues.

I could understand cold affecting the IMU if it was using some kind of liquid like Mercury, but it does not, it's a combination of electronic components, but even Mercury does not freeze until something like -54 degrees. It is a bit baffling and I am going to have to read up on it a bit.