DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Zebra strips

Asco

Reactions
Hi all. I'm a newb to drones so if this has already been discussed, apologies. I've not long bought a mini 2. Bought nd filters pgytech I think.
Question. Why I'm I getting zebra stripes in video mode but not when I switch to photo with an nd 64. Fps 25 1/50?

Reactions: Prop Wash
@Asco the zebra stripes as you call them, correct name hatching ,show the areas that are over exposed usually the sky, and you need to go into camera settings ,and there you can turn them on or off i believe it says exposure metering

@Asco the zebra stripes as you call them, correct name hatching ,show the areas that are over exposed usually the sky, and you need to go into camera settings ,and there you can turn them on or off i believe it says exposure metering
Yes... I hate the zebra stripes. I like the histogram better, but it takes a little bit of understanding to use it effectively.

Assuming you don't know what a histogram is or how to use it (sorry if already do), but below I've pasted an illustration. If you do know how to use it I'm writing it up in the event that there are others who don't.

To the far left is "the wall" that represents black without detail. If the black "buildings" start to build at that wall you've reached the level where a slower/lower exposure would start to lose detail and add noise. On the other side is the white wall. IMO this is the one you can TOUCH but should almost never start to build. You can recover underexposed blacks, although a bit (or alot) noisier but unless way off isn't that awful. But if you overexpose (white wall) you can almost never bring back the detail in the light areas and how much you lose is dependent on how far you overexpose. Sometimes you can get away with a little build-up, but the more the whites "buildings" build the more it cuts into the detail in the light grays as well as bright whites.