DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

“Shock cooling” (or really just cooling) battery question

Maviac

Reactions
I should know this, and I suspect the answer is “don’t do it.” But I thought I’d throw it out to the experts.

I try to treat my batteries very well. Before I realized they’d automatically not charge if they were too warm, I always waited at least an hour after flying to charge to make sure they were cool enough, and actually I still hold off until I’m comfortable they are cool.

But: Is it bad for the batteries to quickly cool them after flight so I can charge them quicker? For example, is there a problem with throwing them in a cold cooler (making sure there’s no leaking liquid, of course) to cool them down so I can start charging them sooner? Again, my assumption is that this would not be good for them, but I’m not an expert on battery physics. If this were ok, I could get a few more recharge/flight cycles in.

Reactions: Former Member
You have to worry about creating condensation doing that.

Yeah, I thought about that, and excellent point. But assuming the cooling isn’t too extreme, is there an inherent problem with (relatively) quickly cooling a Li battery? I will say during cold weather I tend to leave my batteries outside to cool down quicker. Is this a problem?

I would think if there were a problem caused by quickly cooling a battery folks flying in cold climates would be mentioning it.

I would think if there were a problem caused by quickly cooling a battery folks flying in cold climates would be mentioning it.
I thought about this too. I’m in GA so we are rarely lower than the 30s (and far higher most of the year) but others who are flying in cooler climates may have experience with this. Again, it doesn’t “seem” like a good idea, but I’m not sure there is a physical problem with the battery to do it (aside from moisture issues, which is a fair concern).