DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

3 Remote ID questions

journo

Reactions
Hi all, I'm a journalist in Seattle with a 107 and recurrent certificate; I've been flying drones commercially since 2019. I am still confused on a few things regarding remote ID implementation. I have two drones: a Mavic Mini (original gen1) and a Mavic 3.

1) As of today, 9/12/22 do I need to enable remote ID on my Mavic 3 and buy a transponder for my Mini?

2) Am I understanding correctly that my Mavic 3 already has remote ID capability?

3) What is the best transponder brand to get for my Mini, where should I attach it and do I need to sync it with DJI Fly and or Aloft (which is what I use to gain controlled airspace permissions)?

Thanks so much for any information, corrections to my knowledge and clarifications. I am very appreciative to MavicPilots and its participants. I've gained much by this board.

Reactions: -MavicMiniPilot
Hi all, I'm a journalist in Seattle with a 107 and recurrent certificate; I've been flying drones commercially since 2019. I am still confused on a few things regarding remote ID implementation. I have two drones: a Mavic Mini (original gen1) and a Mavic 3.

1) As of today, 9/12/22 do I need to enable remote ID on my Mavic 3 and buy a transponder for my Mini?

2) Am I understanding correctly that my Mavic 3 already has remote ID capability?

3) What is the best transponder brand to get for my Mini, where should I attach it and do I need to sync it with DJI Fly and or Aloft (which is what I use to gain controlled airspace permissions)?

Thanks so much for any information, corrections to my knowledge and clarifications. I am very appreciative to MavicPilots and its participants. I've gained much by this board.
There are many threads on the Remote ID subject. Look here and perhaps you'll find the answer