DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Mavic Mini Crashed into the Fjord

ALan_m10

Reactions
Hi Guys,

Seems I'm not the only one who has had this happen to them! Basically, I had my drone up over a nice harbor area here in Oslo and I wanted to get some video footage flying in towards the shore. All was well for a few minutes, I received a high wind warning so I descended but started to notice the drone drifting out to the harbor.

This seems to be where everything went wrong. The RC lost connection, I had skippy footage on my controller and everything I seemed to do would not resolve the problem. My drone started to descend and a RTH sequence was initiated, however I was powerless to stop the drone plunging into the water.

I am a new pilot and so I'm unsure if it was a mistake or negligence on my part. I have uploaded the flight logs here, there seems to be two logs for some reason, one for the flight right up until a few seconds before the drone hit the water, and another for a few seconds just before it went down.

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com (Main Flight)

DJI Flight Log Viewer - PhantomHelp.com (Just before crash)

Can you guys have a look at the logs and tell me if I should contact DJI or just suck it up and buy a new drone?

Thanks in advance!!

Can you guys have a look at the logs and tell me if I should contact DJI or just suck it up and buy a new drone?
Your flight went well until 4:03.8 when you descended from 61 metres.
At 4:11.4 (53 metres) you returned the left stick to the centre position but the Mini continued to descend to 38 metres at 4:21 and then started to climb withthe right stick still in the centre position.
It climbed to 51 metres at 4:32.1 before you pulled the left stick down and started the drone descending and brought it down to 31 metres but the descending continued after you centred the left stick.