DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Should I compress Mavic Mini videos? How?

Peter Petrov

Reactions
Hello,

I'm new to drones and shooting videos with drones, so I'd like to know what you, more experienced folks, do with your videos. Do you:

A) keep the video files the way they are (original format and file size) in order to keep maximum quality;

or

B) do some sort of compression with a reasonable trade-off between quality loss and file size.

Let's take an example. I've done a circle quickshot with my Mavic Mini in 2.7K. The video is 23 sec. long and takes up 120MB. Now I want to share it and also keep it in my archive. Do I:
A) share the file via WhatsApp, or whatever app one's using, as is - after all 120 MBs is not that much nowadays;
B) compress the file for easier sharing, but keep the original file in order to be able to enjoy it in maximum quality on a bigger screen;
C) compress the file in a way, that will reduce the file size, but also keep the quality acceptable and then do with it whatever I want - sharing, long-term storage etc.

I understand, that probably the answer to my question would be - it depends. I want to know the general approach that you take with videos you've shot. Finally, if your answer involves some sort of compression - what software and settings do you use. I'm aware of two tools of compression:
- Handbrake HandBrake: Open Source Video Transcoder, which has a GUI
- ffmpeg FFmpeg, which is a command-line tool.

For both tools though I'm not sure which settings to use. I understand, that this is a broad topic, but maybe you could point me to some resources, containing hints and best practices.

Thank you very much for your answers.

Cheers,
Peter

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello,

I'm new to drones and shooting videos with drones, so I'd like to know what you, more experienced folks, do with your videos. Do you: