DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

the heat wave and the fires burning around the country

old man mavic

Premium Pilot
Reactions
lets all think for a moment ,of all those people who have lost their homes and lively hoods, in the many burning areas of the UK, due to the unprecedented heat, being experienced today ,as of now there are no reported loss of lives ,in the fires

Heard a news report this morning about an airport north of London that had to shut down due to the heat and the damage it caused to the runway(s).

🥵🥵

@old man mavic Did you see the clip of that Spaniard running from the digger?.......Lucky chap, scarey stuff.

I have no experience of flame fronts but I often wonder, could running through the flame front to the burnt out area be safer than running away from an advanciing flame front? I.e. with 'grass fires' could the flame front be thin enough?
A bit like Formula 1 crash avoidance, aim for where the crashed car/s was/were

Last edited:
old man mavic from my neck of the woods . . . I agree. I was actually up in Owens Valley CA (Mammoths Lakes Area) the weekend the Sequoia Fire broke out (within 40 miles). Not only are you chaps seeing families upended there but here we are seeing thousand year old ecosystems destroyed . . . 😞. There is a Sequoia Grizzly Giant there well over 3,000 years old.

Will fire kill a Sequoia? I hope not but there is something in the back of my mind about the big ones being somewhat fire resistant, thick bark or something.

I have no experience of flame fronts but I often wonder, could running through the flame front to the burnt out area be safer than running away from an advanciing flame front? I.e. with 'grass fires' could the flame front be thin enough?
Possibly, if you have enough protection — including air supply (or can hold your breath). You do not want to breath superheated air.