DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

100% New to Drones - Need Assistance Please!

As a retired doctor, I had to laugh at your term Obstetrical Avoidance. Totally agree with everything else. I think you might have meant OBSTACLE AVOIDANCE. e.g.: unless you want the drone to avoid your baby delivery doctor).

Dale
Dale, I think he DID want the drone to avoid the baby delivery doctor. Those storks can be aggressive! 😉

First of all welcome to his forum!
Regarding your question of what to buy. If you are totally new to drones, I would recommend considering to buy a second hand first and see if you want to go further eventually. You can find easily a cheap second hand Mini 2, often with a lot of accessories (extra batteries etc). They often come from newbies that after a short time realized that droning what they expected it to be. But be aware: you mention you want at least 30 minutes of flight on one battery. Don't rely on the specifications given by the manufacturer; those flight times are measured in ideal conditions. My Mini 2 does fly 20-22 minutes maximum when wind conditions are acceptable and if I don't speed up in sports mode all the time. The same goes, by the way, for my Mavic 2 Pro. I think over 30 minutes is only possible now with the Mavic 3 Pro and that is a costly bird, especially to learn with. And it requires certificates since it is above the 250 g limit.
Whatever you choose, I hope that flying a drone will give you the same pleasure as the rest of us here :)

Welcome to the forum! :)

DJI Care Refresh is likely going to be the better buy as it's easier to get a drone replacement (if ever needed).
I've never bought the DJI care refresh, but I can say that the State Farm policy I carry was very easy to deal with. I very quickly got reimbursed after my Mavic Pro of 3 years crashed. Policy is $60 / yr, (I'm in Rockford, IL). From what they say they will also cover a flyaway and theft.