DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

A "standardized" lens testing community effort?

beroe

Reactions
hi all,

I am really new to this, I am an amateur in drones but been doing photography for many many years.
Its depressing how little hard data there is on comparing drones in terms of image quality depending on lenses, models, lemons versus up-to-spec, etc etc. Some folks know how to test new drones for that, others (like me) are a bit in the fog. Im tired or looking at utube or reading about subjective opinions.

Lets come up with a "standardized" way to evaluate general models, but also provide a way for people to test things they buy in a reliable way? Technical folks, please dont chastise me for saying this, we dont need a true scientific test (I am actually a scientist), just something that works ok and is deployable to anyone and then we can all get feedback, learn and apply. And technical folks can evaluate objectively and prove if its all wrong.

What I will propose is to take photographs, from fixed distances (say 10, 20, 100 ft ? convert to meters too), under day day light of a standardized lens testing chart. For example this:

Anyone can print it, I am also offering to mail prints to anyone that cannot.

What I will do these days, is test my Mavic 3 (original, with the Hasselblad camera and with the tele lens), from ground position and in flight, using various ISO and apertures. I will also test some DSLR medium and telephoto lenses (Nikon and Zeiss), from the exact same spot. I will share the raw files. Will also do a color chart testing (that may be more difficult for some folks and variable depending on many factors, but why not try).

I am particularly interested to see how the tests will compare the Mavic3, Mavic3 Pro and Air 3 (so I do have an "agenda"), but why not make this exercise useful for all the drone models out there?