DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2 hand catching observation....

I approach from bottom and grasp it then use my left hand to put the left joystick down and too the left it will fight a little then it will turn off. My biggest thing is i have to be careful to grab it quickly if iv brought it under my porch or it will try to go up if i approach it to slow.

The only other odd thing is when i do this the gimble always goes to one side.

I've seen drones flipped over also but not an air2. That video you gave is of a mini. I have no hands on experience with the mini BUT, I believe the air2 is way stronger and harder to flip over. I'm not going to try it again till I see others doing it. When I said it got mean, I mean it went nuts.

I got a new MA2 the other day and flown it a few times and quick flip turned it off no problem.

If I need to land my MA2 without touching the ground, (too sandy, grassy or wet) I hover it just above me, put my open palm about 2 feet under it, and then push the stick down and let it slowly descend onto my hand. I never "catch" the bird in the air and i think it's not really a proper way. Tried it with my Mini, but I found that I need to exert considerable force to flip the bird to it's side. My motto is, if you need to force something to do something, then maybe you shouldn't be doing it in the first place.

I flip mine to Sport mode when I hand catch it, to turn off the front / back obstacle avoidance sensors and it seems to work fine for me so far.

Reactions: Tentoes
I've seen drones flipped over also but not an air2. That video you gave is of a mini. I have no hands on experience with the mini BUT, I believe the air2 is way stronger and harder to flip over. I'm not going to try it again till I see others doing it. When I said it got mean, I mean it went nuts.