DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2s AirSense

ANT0407

Reactions
I was just flying in my yard, max hight of 50 feet just playing around. I heard a single prop plane,looked up and saw it. It never showed on the Fly app. I guess I'm wondering how it works. Does it only notify you if it is in a certain radius? Or hight? My old M2 zoom, didn't have AirSense so I'm new to this. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

I was just flying in my yard, max hight of 50 feet just playing around. I heard a single prop plane,looked up and saw it. It never showed on the Fly app. I guess I'm wondering how it works. Does it only notify you if it is in a certain radius? Or hight? My old M2 zoom, didn't have AirSense so I'm new to this. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.
There are quite a few planes and helicopters that do not have the Air Sense installed yet so that is hit or miss. Most of the bigger planes do have it as well as helicopters.

Phantomrain.org
Gear to fly in the Rain.

Reactions: CLAYB.7
Specifically, for a plane to show up in DJI's Air Sense it must have ADS-B out. That is it must be broadcasting a signal that the drone can interpret. It is required for all crewed aircraft operating in Class A, B or C airspace (and a few others). So if you are near a busy commercial airport (Boston, New York Metro, LAX, etc) Airsense will be pretty reliable. in rural areas, less so. And of course even where it is more reliable you are still responsible for collision avoidance through VLOS.
For more background on ADS-B: ADS-B