DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2s Picture quality?

pilifida

Reactions
Hello, i've read all the hype for the new drone, but taking it out in a sunny day with high contrast scenes i am sooo disappointed. I am attaching some examples of how my camera performed today. The photos are too over-contrasted, too punchy. Is there a chance to find a setting to lower the contrast? [MP1 had a image control settings in which i could adjust the contrast/shaprening etc how i wanted]. And i'm an enthusiast photographer, i'm taking photos with various dslrs for 15 years and i was quite ok with MP1 photo quality. I expected the so much "worshiped" 1" sensor to be a mind blow. But now i miss my old MP1 :(
DJI_0019.JPG
DJI_0009.JPGDJI_0011.JPG
DJI_0029.JPG

No, there is no image quality adjustments in the A2S. Are you evaluating the JPG files produced by the camera? If so, you should process the DNG raw files to process your images after the fact. However, to me, your pictures seem a bit overexposed with a lot of blown out highlight areas. This can definitely increase the perceived contrast.

If you haven't already done so, enable the histogram and set your exposure so that all areas of the scene (especially the highlights) are not clipped on the right side. If you have clipping on both the left and right, then typically it is easier to sacrifice the shadows a bit to keep the highlights from clipping. You can usually pull detail out of the shadow areas, but blown highlights are unrecoverable.

Thx for the answer. I know how to process the rae files but i was expecting better jpeg files, as regarding the raw photos - i usually process only the best ones, and if i want to just look on my trip's photos, i usually scroll through the jpeg files, as it is absurd to edit each photo i shoot.