DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Avata 2 Maximum Pitch Angle

HopwoodBoy70

Reactions
Hi all.

I've been an FPV pilot for several years, flying acro on 3", 5", 7" 4S and 6S home built quads, often with a GoPro strapped on top! I recently bought an Avata 2 as I wanted some new HD goggles anyway (hoping for O4 Air Unit to arrive soon!) and thought the Avata 2 would be fun, give some nice cinematic footage, as well as being easy to travel with.

However, here's my question. Is it possible to adjust the maximum pitch angle on the Avata 2 when flying in either Normal, or Sport mode?

I have got the FPV Remote as well, and I have full Manual mode enabled, with rates set to my preference, which of course means full control over pitch and everything else. But... Normal/Sport mode are actually really good for filming with, especially the altitude hold control which is nice when flying over water. Problem is, at max throttle, even with max forward pitch, the Avata 2 will still climb rather than simply go faster at the same altitude.

I'm guessing the pitch is locked to limit the forward speed in these modes? But any way round it would be great. Thanks :)

Doubt that you will find any possibility to mod tilt angles through DJI's own apps, but you could try Drone Hacks app (the Avata 2 is supported) & there use the free parameter change function & search for a parameter that changes the max tilt angle in normal or sport.

But even if you find a way you will probably still be limited by the max ground speed that you can't change by a parameter change.

Reactions: HopwoodBoy70
When you fly a DJI Drone in a "MODE", You are not flying like you would be flying a freestyle in ACRO.
Your DJI Drone will act as if you put it in angle mode and the pitch will be limited.