DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

B4UFLY and DJI Fly Spots

goneeuro

Reactions
Good Afternoon all! I just recently bought my very first Drone. The DJI Mini 2. I am still learning all the ins and out on what is allowed and ran into an issue. I live in Venice FL and have a local airport on the island. In the DJI app it has the beach under "Enhanced Warning Zone" and "Authorization Zone", but B4UFLY does not show any restrictions. Our Airport is pretty busy so I am SURE there is some kind of issue with flying on the beach here. Can you guys help me understand why DJI says no and B4UFLY says go for it? I am posting a couple of screen shots of what I am seeing on my phone.IMG_2146.PNG
IMG_2145.PNG
IMG_2144.PNG

B4UFly appears to be correct according to the Miami Sectional chart. The markings for the local airport in this case show a manned tower but no airspace restrictions below 700' AGL (above ground level).

The wide maroon band depicts Class E airspace starting at 700':

Screen Shot 2022-08-25 at 1.04.34 PM.png

This is a terribly frustrating issue for many pilots. DJI may prevent you from flying or require "permission" even when the FAA could care less and to top it off you may find situations where you have no cell coverage and unable to GET permission from DJI even when it is not restricted. It's just a crazy situation at times.

B4UFly appears to be correct according to the Miami Sectional chart. The markings for the local airport in this case show a manned tower but no airspace restrictions below 700' AGL (above ground level).

Thanks for the response. I was not planning on going any higher than 100ft or so. Or even that high. In my screen shot of the b4ufly app it looks like just going up to Nokomis Beach may be the safer bet just to keep out of trouble.

I plan on taking the Part 107 just to learn more, but in the mean time, I didnt want to break any laws just getting used to things.