DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best settings to start with for new Pilot

Fireproof

Reactions
As a new pilot, I would love some help with the best settings to start with. I know they are there so you can customize for very specific scenarios or needs, but assuming I'm new to drones (I am) and want to be using the Mavic for aerial vacation videos ultimately (while just having fun flying with it and general usage the rest of the time) - what are the best settings to start with for an "average user" like this?

Here are the settings I'm curious about:

General Settings
  • Cache Map in Background: ??
  • Max Video Cache Capacity: ?? default is 2gb
Main Controller Settings
  • Multiple Flight Modes: I enabled it. Any reason not to?
  • Return to Home Altitude: ?? Should I set it to some value?
  • Advanced Settings: Anything I should mess with right now?
Visual Navigation Settings
  • Enable Obstacle Avoidance: I did. Any reason not to?
Remote Controller Settings
  • C1 Button: What should I set this to? What is most popular/common?
  • C2 Button: What should I set this to? What is most popular/common?
  • 5D Button: What would be most useful here?
Gimbal Settings
  • Gimbal Pitch Speed: What would be best here for general photography use?
  • Gimbal Pitch Smoothness: What would be best here?

Thanks in advance. If there's a a cheat sheet like this or a great beginner guide that gets into this stuff - feel free to point me in the direction. I did some searching but didn't find something like this...

Cache Map in Background
Enable this setting so you're able to cache the maps.

Multiple Flight Modes: I enabled it. Any reason not to
You'll want to keep this enabled so you can use other flight modes.

Return to Home Altitude