DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Brand new MP 1 user..

the moog

Reactions
Ok so Ive bought a Mavic Pro on eBay so it is totally new to me and I’m no expert..the last flight distance was only about 300m and it said ‘connection was lost’ on the (now) red bar at the top of the phone screen. I flew it back just using the measures on the control as I didn’t think to use rth.... The phone still had a display but no telemetry or fpv image and the connection was restored automatically when it got back to my garden.
Surely the lost connection can’t be the distance? There were only a few scattered trees in the way - nothing major. In fact I had flown virtually the same path earlier that day. How far should one expect for the fpv image to be transmitted?
Also, on a previous flight the app crashed. Fortunately the drone just waited until I reloaded it and there was no problem. Is that something that other users have experienced? I’m using an iPhone 6s Plus which should be ok.
As I say I’m new to this but I fancy sitting in the garden and having a fly about the village circa 1 mile circumference. Is that possible with a MP?
Apologies for what may seem like stupid questions to more experienced users but needs must..
Any tips or advice is welcome.

Reactions: Thomas B
Hi the moog Welcome to Mavic Pilots.
New flyer advice,
Wide open space.
Slow & easy
Power-lines & trees are evil.
Don't expect RTH (Return To Home) to save you especially if you are under trees.
Don't forget to read the manual ;)
Download Mavic Pro manual HERE
You want an SD card that is U3 for 4K
Most of all have FUN