DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Buying used Mavic 1 Pro - what to look for?

samiam

Reactions
Hello. First post, so please make allowances :) I am new to FPV drone flying. I am looking to buy a used Mavic 1 Pro or MPP as those models seem to be capable and dependable, with a large base of information, and currently appear to be available in good used condition at a reasonable price point (500 USD or so). I would like thoughts from experienced Mavic flyers about how to evaluate a used example to make reasonably sure it is in sound flying condition and that the seller's claims for that condition are accurate. I understand that there will be some element of risk involved, but is there a check list that I could use to eliminate common problems? I read some threads here re poor availability of DJI OEM batteries, so I assume the number and condition of batteries sold with the unit would be one very important aspect. If there is a sticky or a previous thread here that goes into this topic in depth, please feel free to refer me to it. Thanks in advance!

SAM

With my used eBay Mavic Pro, the only defect I found was that the controller battery takes up to 8 hours to reach full charge from 70% charge. I understand this is a known issue as the controller batteries age, and that one of these I'll need to replace that controller battery, which requires major surgery. The drone itself flies like a brand new one, with no problems thus far.

If permissible, test-fly your Mavic Pro before buying it and then check out the video footage to be sure that the camera and gimbal are in perfect working order.

Hi Sam. Welcome to the forum.