DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Biggiestews

Reactions
Hey guys,

I've been travelling for 2 months now with my Mavic through Brazil (arrived by air), Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Peru (all land borders) and am next heading onwards to my final destination in Mexico. Was wondering if anyone had taken a Mavic Pro across land borders into any or all: Ecuador, Colombia, Panama, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Guatemala, Honduras, Belize, El Salvador or Mexico?!

As I intend to fly out of Mexico any information on these land borders would be much appreciated!

Happy to help with anyone wanting information on any of the countries I've already come through.

Hoping to help everyone with Mavics on the regulations across Central and South America!

Cheers!

Reactions: Ivan2408
Greetings! Sadly I do not have any tips to offer. I do however plan on taking mine for trips in future.

My biggest fear would be getting it confiscated at border / airport by corrupt officials who may want to sell it for cash or to get you to pay to get it back. Did you encounter any issue from border / airport officials?

Reactions: Biggiestews
At this point, I haven't had a single issue. To be honest, my bags have only been scanned crossing from Argentina to Chile and there was no issues. I split all the parts up also. Actually the only even mention of a drone was flying to Brazil from Australia, I stopped by New Zealand who searched my bag but proceeded to let me pass after checking every battery. No issues there either. I'll update this thread across each border.

Reactions: Ivan2408
I was looking at the Mavic videos on YouTube and I remembered this video when I saw your post. Apparently you cannot enter Nicaragua with a drone. Not sure about the other countries.

I was looking at the Mavic videos on YouTube and I remembered this video when I saw your post. Apparently you cannot enter Nicaragua with a drone. Not sure about the other countries.