DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Clarity on Rules Regarding Private Property

Reactions
I am new to piloting and I am trying to learn everything I need to know to properly fly in compliance with FAA as a hobby pilot. But I see conflicting posts and opinions regarding flying over private property. Some of it has to deal with the current date vs. when an item was posted or real rules vs. how someone feels about people flying over their private property. As I understand it, as of July 27, 2019, in the USA all other rules aside it is permissible to fly over someone else's private property. This excludes landings and takeoffs as those would require trespassing. Am I correct in this analysis? Comments please.

As I understand it, as of July 27, 2019, in the USA all other rules aside it is permissible to fly over someone else's private property. This excludes landings and takeoffs as those would require trespassing. Am I correct in this analysis? Comments please.
The FAA doesn't have rules about private property.
Some things you have to use common sense for.
It's a good general principal to avoid flying in a way that is going to annoy landowners.