DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Compass Calibration

Mymgb

Reactions
i have been an owner pilot of a Phantom 3 Standard. When I began flying, I learned to set my compass location manually before each flight to bring the P3S drone Home. However, as I prepare to purchase a MAVIC Pro, the videos appear to avoid starting your flight with a compass calibration before flying although you can do so. So,am I correct in thinking that once you start up DJ GO4 app, it assigns the new Home position despite the fact you may move to different locations?

A home point is only set once after the Mavic has been powered on and it connects to enough GPS satellites. Starting or restarting the DJI GO app will not set/reset the home point.

i have been an owner pilot of a Phantom 3 Standard. When I began flying, I learned to set my compass location manually before each flight to bring the P3S drone Home. However, as I prepare to purchase a MAVIC Pro, the videos appear to avoid starting your flight with a compass calibration before flying although you can do so. So,am I correct in thinking that once you start up DJ GO4 app, it assigns the new Home position despite the fact you may move to different locations?
Howdy from Wyoming Mymgb, welcome to the community, plenty of fine folk and excellent information here.

Thanks Pilots,as I understand it, if I fly in the morning at location 1 then fly in the afternoon at a totally different location, I still need to go through the calibration process as done with P3S. Ordered my MAVIC today based on recommendation AND Msinger,too. Great helpful people here and forum

You shouldn't have to calibrate the compass often. It won't hurt anything if you choose to do it often though.

Welcome to Mavic Pilots .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .:)