DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Defect or human error?

buffington

Reactions
I'm new to the Mavic Pro, but not to digital photography. I've been shooting digital semi-professionally for 15+ years and have learned what causes noise in a still shot. I can't say the same for video though.

Try as I might I'm seeing some odd noise in footage captured by my Mavic Pro.

Here's a link to a small sample of some recent footage.

The settings:
- Manual white balance (6400k)
- Manual exposure
- ISO: 200
- Shutter: 400
- Style: +1, +1, 0
- Video Size: 4k/24

If you look at the right side of the footage, you'll see the noise pretty clearly. When you look at the discrete channels you'll see there's a bit of noise in red, almost none in green, and a lot in blue.

The blue noise actually seems to form a sort of checkerboard of blue noise. You'll see squarish chunks where the noise is heaviest.

Watching the parade scopes in Resolve I noticed something peculiar. Every 8 frames every channel pulses brighter for one frame. I have no idea what to make of this, but maybe it's consistent enough that it seems worth noting.

It's also not just this shot. I have footage taken following a car on a sunny day above salt flats. At the lowest sensitivity ISO, with the shutter set to give me a slightly underexposed shot, I still get noise. In fact, I've never not seen noise in my shots. I've tested a lot of different settings where I wouldn't expect to see noise and it's there.

So I'm curious: does the noise seem normal? Do I have a defective camera or am I missing something crucial? I'm not expecting miracles from this camera, but I've seen unprocessed, noise free footage from other Mavics and this just seems off.

There are a few youtube videos on this like:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.