DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Did I Buy A Dinosaur....? Ipad Mini 4

I'm new to this arena and I have a Mavic Air that hasn't got off the ground yet. I'm getting all my ducks in a row (working on my 107) before I take to the air. I purchased a used Ipad Mini 4 to use while flying but I'm reading that there might be some issues with using it. Is there anything I can do to use it and make it safe and reliable? Did I buy a dinosaur?
I was using my mini ipad 4 with my MA2 but it was lagging big time in the video and other areas. I sold it on offerup and ended buying the mini ipad 5 which performs flawlessly now. Good luck and happy new year to you and yours.

Reactions: Crow Horse
I'm new to this arena and I have a Mavic Air that hasn't got off the ground yet. I'm getting all my ducks in a row (working on my 107) before I take to the air. I purchased a used Ipad Mini 4 to use while flying but I'm reading that there might be some issues with using it. Is there anything I can do to use it and make it safe and reliable? Did I buy a dinosaur?
You're missing out on the fun. Just go out in a big field and give it a go. Read the manual, understand the buttons to take off, land, and automagically return to home. Set the RTH height to be above the tree line.
First few times, only use 50% of the battery before landing; practice the RTH from nearby; and always keep the drone in sight.
Let yourself make a few mistakes and fix your mistakes by watching Youtube tutorials.
Good luck!

Thanks for everyone sharing their help and experiences. Yesterday I took a break from my 107 studies and took my first flight, albeit it was shorter than the Wright brothers first flight. I was pleasantly surprised as how responsive the MA1 was and I navigated around obstacles by my house, landing in the bed of my pickup. The Mini 4 worked without issue. I was extremely happy but I have lots to learn about Go 4.