DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Did I Buy A Dinosaur....? Ipad Mini 4

Crow Horse

Premium Pilot
Reactions
I'm new to this arena and I have a Mavic Air that hasn't got off the ground yet. I'm getting all my ducks in a row (working on my 107) before I take to the air. I purchased a used Ipad Mini 4 to use while flying but I'm reading that there might be some issues with using it. Is there anything I can do to use it and make it safe and reliable? Did I buy a dinosaur?

Reactions: BethanyFerrell
Hi I have been using iPad mini 4 for the last few year with Mavic Pro Platinum edition without any issues. It is a great in many ways but has its limitations especially when it comes to screen brightness. Since you are new to the game, just play attention to the surroundings and take it slow.

BTW, recently sold my Platinum and upgraded to M3 and waiting of iPad 6 mini!

Enjoy the new drone and fly safe!

Thanks! That makes me feel more confident and relieved in my choice of Ipads Mini's. I have a hood so that might help the screen brightness issue. Good luck with the Mini 6!

Welcome to the forum. You will find a wealth of information. Ask questions, read and participate. You do not need the 107 to fly. You can fly under a "trust" license. It's free to take. Check out Pilot Institute for it.

Have fun and fly safe.

I'm currently enrolled in Pilot Institute's 107 course. It's an awesome course! I'm almost 1/2 way through it as of now and I do have the TRUST certificate. As anxious as I am to get int he air, I want to learn as much as I can before I do. I'm also trying to identify potential pitfalls and obstacles before I actually experience them and work towards avoiding such. Crisis prevention is much better (and cheaper) than crisis management.

I'm having a blast just in the learning process. I can't imagine what it'll be like when I actually fly......