DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI FPV Remote Controller without Goggles

sirkemma

Reactions
Hello. I've never used anything FPV before (just Mavic 2 Pro) but I'm buying a Bumblebee CineWhoop that has the DJI FPV camera and air unit (to use in real estate fly throughs). So it's configured for the DJI FPV Remote Controller, which is great, but if I'm using that controller, do I have to use the Goggles, or can I just connect it to a phone or iPad? I'll probably get the goggles for recreational use, but I really don't want to go to a client's home with goggles, so I'd rather just use it with a normal monitor like a phone or tablet. Does that work? (I realize I could get a different controller, but then i have to get a new receiver and install it, etc - I'd rather use it as configured).

Greatly appreciate any help.

Reactions: Droniac
Hi there & welcome to the forum ? :D

FPV advises not related to Mavics is most probably hard to get here, very different hardware ... I would try here instead --> FPV Drone Pilots Forum

I'm owning FPV equipment myself, but being a newbie in that field & to equipment and their possibilities I would believe that will be impossible ... the VTX in the Quad sends out the live stream & that is received by the goggles & can be recorded either on a separate SD card in the VTX (if you have the DJI Air unit, not if it's the CaddX Vista) or to a SD in the goggles. Never heard about any separate screen that can show the same as the goggles ... not for the digital fpv system anyway.

The solution you will be left with is to fly LOS instead, filming & recording to the SD on the Air unit ... but it beats me how you should setup all the film parameters without the goggles.