DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Go 4 Crash during POI flight

Pasta

Reactions
I've had my MPP since Christmas 2017, but have not done a lot of flying due to being busy at work. I was a pilot for most of my life, so most of my challenges with flying the MPP are related to remembering all the capabilities and how to access/use them.

Last Sunday, I decided to try POI for the first time. I got the drone airborne and designated my POI and climbed to the altitude I wanted to try this capability at and then moved the MPP out to the offset I wanted. I set the direction and speed and the video transmission began to show what I expected, then the Galaxy Tab 2 I was using began to pixelate. After a few more seconds of poor video on the Tab 2, the DJI Go 4 app died and restarted. My problem was that when the app was back online it showed that the aircraft was not connected. Looking at the controller scene, I saw that it still showed "POI Mode" and appeared to be receiving data from the MPP that should have been about 1,000 feet away from my position with no obstructions between me and the drone. I still had a visual, but just barely. I had over 20 minutes of battery life left, so I knew I had some time to logically work through this EP (emergency procedure) even with my minimal systems knowledge (a new situation for me since the USAF really stresses knowing the systems cold BEFORE operating aircraft, manned or unmanned).