DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Do I need a phone with plenty of data?

stubaz

Reactions
G;day Guys & Girls,

I'm completely new to flying DJI quadcopters, but I've been flying cheaper quads and those I've built myself, (mostly 450's or 550's). I was going to use a tablet, but found it rather cumbersome and got myself a mobile phone.

My question is, do I need to have plenty of data to fly? and if I use the phone to update the Mavics will the WiFi I have at home save me from using data on the phone?

The reason for asking is I'm about to get a plan for the phone and the cost seems to relate to how much data you want. I simply don't know if I need a lot of data or a very small amount. I will be using the phone to receive and make phone calls but should I need to download an app can I use my home WiFi and not use any data on the phone.

Excuse my ignorance, I've only ever had a mobile when in hospital to talk to my wife over 400Km away. Hopefully the hospital reason is now obsolete (fingers crossed) and I have no idea if the phone has to access the Internet before, after or whilst flying. One other small question: How do I disable the phone whilst flying, I'd hate to get a call with the quad at 200 feet and it loses contact.

Many thanks in advance ... Stu

My question is, do I need to have plenty of data to fly? and if I use the phone to update the Mavics will the WiFi I have at home save me from using data on the phone?
Sometimes a little can be handy, but you don't need any data to fly.
How do I disable the phone whilst flying, I'd hate to get a call with the quad at 200 feet and it loses contact.
It's not necessary, but you can put the phone into airplane mode if you want to.
Having a phone call come in, won't make the drone lose contact.

Reactions: Reid937 and Cafguy